Enter your email to receive emails about events and club happenings!



The 16 German states couldn’t be more diverse!

From the rugged alpine scenery in the south to the lakes and sea shores in the north, well-known and secret holiday destinations abound.

Fascinating traditions and delicious foods vary throughout the country, facts that amaze first-time visitors again and again.  Although not all states are internationally well-known as tourist destinations, there are always places worthwhile to visit.

German States – Die Bundesländer

Germany is traditionally a country organized as a federal state. After the dissolution of the Holy Roman Empire in 1806, the German-speaking territories of the empire became allied in the German Confederation (1815–1866), a league of states with some federalisticelements. After the war between Austria and Prussia of 1866, Prussia led the Northern states into a federal state called North German Confederation of 1867–1870. The Southern states joined the federal state in 1870/71, which was consequently renamed German Empire (1871–1918). The state continued as the Weimar Republic of 1919–1933.

List of historic states of Germany